常见问题

以下是关于“碳透明倡议” 的常见问题。此列表将根据收到的反馈继续进行改进。

  • +

    哪些数据是历史数据?

    CTI依赖很多可靠的数据来源,并用历史数据来较准模型。在某些情况下,模型的预测来源于对某行业的技术,政策,和投资趋势的综合分析。而在其他情况下,源数据也包含预测。不同的参数有不同的历史数据可应用。最近一年的历史数据因不同指标和不同的数据来源而有所改变。在摘要图中,实线代表历史数据,虚线代表预测的趋势。CTI2017中,最近的历史数据取自2014年至2016年之间。

  • +

    数据源有哪些?

    CTI的活动参数和排放强度参数应用了一些可靠的数据来源,主要包括电力行业:彭博新能源财经的力部新能源展望,交通行业:国际清洁交通委员会的全球运模式路线图,建筑和工业行业: 国际能源署的能源技展望

    模型还融入了其他数据来源。有关数据源的完整列表,请参阅CTI方法文件中表5。

  • +

    当前发展情景中有哪些政策假设? 是否还有其他情景可选择或创建新的情景?

    CTI根据当前政策,脱碳趋势和能源相关投资提出了前瞻性的”当前发展情景”(CDS)。 “当前发展情景”(CDS)假设目前的政策和法规会继续实施和执行。 “当前政策”中包括的政策均已公布,并纳入了CTI所引用的数据源中。详细内容请参见CTI政策文件

    在模型中有五种人口和GDP情景可以选择,数据来自为气候变化建模社区开发的共享社会经济途径(SSPs)。“当前发展情景”基于’中间道路’SSP2,但模型的用户可以选择五个SSPs中的任何一个,或指定自己的GDP和人口增长预测。 改变人口和GDP预测能够影响行业的参数变化, 以便模型的灵敏度分析。

    对于当前发展情景 下的人口和GDP增长率,请参阅CTI方法文件中的表6。 有关对GDP或人口增长的假设及敏感度的计算,请参阅CTI方法文件中的表7。 此外,用户也可以通过调整政策或改变模型中的假设来创建自己的方案。

    当前发展情景中的各国的温室气体排放路径和限制全球气候变暖在1.5°C或2°C以内温室气体排放路径并不一致。当前发展情景也未必符合2015年11月各国提交给巴黎缔约方大会的国家自主贡献方案。

  • +

    如何访问模型?

    如果您想使用模型,或者创建自己的方案,请与我们联系

  • +

    如何将CTI 模型与其他模型进行比较?

    CTI模型是以指标参数来对巴西,中国,欧盟,印度,墨西哥和美国的排放路径进行预测,模拟期为2030年。许多其他排放途径的模型在方法,数据来源, 全球变暖潜力,模型包含范围(包括区域,行业,温室气体),以及建模期都不同。 在将CTI与其他模型对比时,请注意比较的合理性 (“苹果对苹果”的比较)。

    若想对可再生能源,煤炭消费,和乘用车辆的历史预期与实际发展情况作比较,请参阅我们的报告“Faster and Cleaner: Decarbonization in the Power and Transport Sectors is Surpassing Predictions”。

  • +

    模型有哪些不确定性?

    虽然CTI模型包括五个用户可以选择的共享社会经济途径,但GDP和人口增长的不确定性仅反映了两个潜在的不确定性。 模型的方法和数据源(预测以及历史数据)也隐含着不确定性。 对于模型的不确定性,最好的应对方法是将模型信息公开透明化,并对各种未来的可能情景充分分析。 在“区域”摘要图中发布的排放范围只反映了5个SSP情景; 不能够涵盖该区域所有可能的排放路径。也不应该从概率的角度解读 (即,它们不是排放途径的置信区间或分布)。 有关详细信息,请参阅CTI模型方法文档

  • +

    数据多久会更新一次?

    CTI模型预计每两年更新一次,并在下半年发布新版本。当前网站上的数据均来自第一次更新的模型(CTI2017)。此外还有摘要图将更新的模型的数据与与第一组模型(CTI2015)的数据进行比较。

  • +

    我如何引用数据?

    网站: Carbon Transparency Initiative. November 2016. ClimateWorks Foundation, San Francisco, CA. Accessed on (date). Available at climateworkstracker.org.

    模型方法: Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Cronin, C. and Menon, S., “Carbon Transparency Initiative: Model methodology for all sectors.” November 2016. ClimateWorks Foundation, San Francisco, CA. Available at climateworkstracker.org.

    巴西模型的方法: Azevedo, T., Tsai, D., dos Santos Cremer, M., Costa Jr., C., Brandao Jr., A., Coluna, I., Albuquerque, I., Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Cronin, C. and Menon, S., “Carbon Transparency Initiative: Brazil.” December 2017. System for Greenhouse Gas Emissions and Removals Estimates (SEEG) and ClimateWorks Foundation. Available at climateworkstracker.org.

    摘要 (2015): Cronin, C., Menon, S., Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Hagemann, M., Höhne, N., Sterl, S., van Breevoort, P., Wouters, K., Hare, B., Roming, N., and Sferra, F., “Faster and Cleaner: Decarbonization in the power and transport sectors is surpassing predictions.” December 2015. Available at climateworks.org.

    摘要 (2017): Cronin, C., Menon, S., Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Sterl, S., Hagemann, M., Fekete, H., Höhne, N., Cantzler, J., Ancygier, A., Beer, M., Hare, B., Wouters, K., Deng, Y., Blok, K., “Faster and Cleaner 2: Kick-starting global decarbonization.” April 2017. Available at climateworks.org.

  • +

    模型中有没有考虑油价?

    CTI是以活动和强度指标为主导的模型,而油价并不是一个明确的政策指标。各行业的数据源和预测中隐含了石油价格的假设 。

  • +

    对非二氧化碳的排放量有哪些假设?

    我们用政府间气候变化专门委员会第四次评估报告中提出的全球变暖潜能(100年) 来衡量非二氧化碳气体的影响, 包括甲烷,一氧化二氮和氢氟烃。几乎每个行业都有非二氧化碳的排放量。 CTI2017模型更新的部分主要体现在新模型包含了更多的排放二氧化碳的天然气的来源。

  • +

    为什么航空和航海业的排放量与交通业的排放量分开处理?

    航空和航海业排放量与运输业排放量分别列出,以便与其他模型进行比较,因为并非所有模型都计算航空和航海的排放量。

  • +

    如何将当前发展情景与国家自主贡献(NDCs)或2 / 1.5摄氏度情景比较?

    当前发展情景中的各国的温室气体排放路径和限制全球气候变暖在1.5°C或2°C以内的排放路径并不一致,也不一定符合2015年11月各国提交给巴黎缔约方大会的国家自主贡献(NDCs)。虽然模型假定公布的政策会被实施,但这并不意味着所有的目标或承诺都会实现。并且当前发展情景不从特定的温度目标回推。 然而,我们也可以模拟一个国家自主贡献的影响,或模拟限制气候变暖到一个阈值时某区域在2030 年的排放量。

  • +

    ClimateWorks基金会如何应用CTI模型?

    ClimateWorks基金会使用CTI模型来了解温室气体排放的重要性,并为慈善投资提供信息。 我们的所有工作都以科学为基础,而CTI是工具包中的一个组成部分,旨在为战略提供背景和信息,而非定义战略

  • +

    为巴西建立的模型和原来的五个模型有什么不同?

    2015年,ClimateWorks公布了中国,欧盟,印度,墨西哥和美国的碳透明度倡议模型,采用统一的方法和数据来源。此后,ClimateWorks与巴西非政府组织SEEG合作,a)根据CTI方法建立巴西温室气体排放模型,b)更新土地利用行业(林业,农业和废物)的计算方法。2017年,我们建立了巴西的新模型并更新了原来的五个地区的模型。

    巴西模型和其他模型的不同之处在于,它是由巴西国内专家建立的,并尽可能依据巴西的国内数据。由于数据可用性或结构的差异,即使报告同样的指标,巴西模型使用的方法也与其他模型使用的方法不同。有关巴西模型方法的更多信息,请访问SEEG网站。

  • +

    如何引用CTI巴西模型?

    Azevedo, T., Tsai, D., dos Santos Cremer, M., Costa Jr., C., Brandao Jr., A., Coluna, I., Albuquerque, I., Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Cronin, C. and Menon, S., “Carbon Transparency Initiative: Brazil.” December 2017. System for Greenhouse Gas Emissions and Removals Estimates (SEEG) and ClimateWorks Foundation. Available at climateworkstracker.org.

建议的引用

网站: Carbon Transparency Initiative. November 2016. ClimateWorks Foundation, San Francisco, CA. Accessed on (date). Available at climateworkstracker.org.

模型方法: Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Cronin, C. and Menon, S., “Carbon Transparency Initiative: Model methodology for all sectors.” November 2016. ClimateWorks Foundation, San Francisco, CA. Available at climateworkstracker.org.

巴西模型的方法: Azevedo, T., Tsai, D., dos Santos Cremer, M., Costa Jr., C., Brandao Jr., A., Coluna, I., Albuquerque, I., Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Cronin, C. and Menon, S., “Carbon Transparency Initiative: Brazil.” December 2017. System for Greenhouse Gas Emissions and Removals Estimates (SEEG) and ClimateWorks Foundation. Available at climateworkstracker.org.

摘要 (2015): Cronin, C., Menon, S., Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Hagemann, M., Höhne, N., Sterl, S., van Breevoort, P., Wouters, K., Hare, B., Roming, N., and Sferra, F., “Faster and Cleaner: Decarbonization in the power and transport sectors is surpassing predictions.” December 2015. Available at climateworks.org.

摘要 (2017): Cronin, C., Menon, S., Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Sterl, S., Hagemann, M., Fekete, H., Höhne, N., Cantzler, J., Ancygier, A., Beer, M., Hare, B., Wouters, K., Deng, Y., Blok, K., “Faster and Cleaner 2: Kick-starting global decarbonization.” April 2017. Available at climateworks.org.

Frequently Asked Questions

The following are frequently asked questions about the Carbon Transparency Initiative. This list will continue to be refined based on feedback received.

  • +

    Which data are historical?

    The CTI relies on a number of trusted sources, including historical inventories that were used for calibrating the model. In some cases projections were based on a combination of analyses of trends of technologies, policies, and investments that affect the trajectory of a given sector, while in other cases the source data also included projections. The most recent year of historical data differs by metric depending on the data source. In the Tracking Dashboard, this is communicated graphically by solid lines (historical data) and dotted lines (projections). For CTI 2017, the most recent historical year is generally between 2014 and 2016.

  • +

    What are the data sources?

    The CTI relies on a number of trusted sources for activity and intensity metrics. Leading sources include Bloomberg New Energy Finance’s New Energy Outlook for the Power sector, the International Council on Clean Transportation’s Global Transportation Roadmap Model for the Transport sector, and the International Energy Agency’s Energy Technology Perspectives for the Buildings and Industry sectors.

    A large number of additional sources were also incorporated into the models. For a full list of data sources, please consult Table 5 in the CTI Model Methodology Document.

  • +

    What policy assumptions are in the Current Development Scenario, and are there alternative scenarios or the ability to create one’s own scenario?

    The Carbon Transparency Initiative presents a forward-looking Current Development Scenario (CDS) based on current policies, decarbonization trends, and energy-related investments. The CDS assumes continued effort in implementing policy and supporting and defending current policies and legislation. Included in ‘current policies’ are any policies in a sector that were promulgated in time to be incorporated into the data sources CTI relies on. Please consult the CTI Policies Document for more information.

    Five population and GDP scenarios are available for selection in the models, sourced from the Shared Socioeconomic Pathways (SSPs) developed for the climate change modeling community. The CDS is based on the ‘Middle of the Road’ SSP2, while users of the models may choose any of the five SSPs or specify their own GDP and population growth projections. This allows for a range of sensitivity analyses as these socioeconomic activity metrics drive changes through several sectors in the model.

    For population and GDP growth rates in the CDS, please consult Table 6 in the CTI Model Methodology Document. For a full list of the calculations sensitive to GDP or population growth assumptions, please consult Table 7 in the CTI Model Methodology Document. In addition, users can create their own scenarios by affecting policy levers or changing assumptions in the model.

    The regional emissions pathways in the Current Development Scenario are not consistent with limiting warming to 1.5°C or 2°C and they do not necessarily align with the Nationally Determined Contributions submitted to the Conference of the Parties in Paris in November 2015.

  • +

    How can I access the models?

    Please contact us if you wish to access the models and/or create your own scenarios.

  • +

    How do the CTI models compare with other models?

    The Carbon Transparency Initiative models are indicator-led forecasts of emissions pathways for Brazil, China, the European Union, India, Mexico, and the United States with a modeling horizon of 2030. There are many other models of emissions pathways which differ on methodology, data sources, Global Warming Potentials, coverage (by geography, by sector, and by the suite of greenhouse gases included), and the modeling horizon. Care must be taken to ensure that ‘apples to apples’ comparisons are being made when contrasting CTI’s outcome metrics to those of other modeling efforts.

    For comparisons of past projections with actual developments in renewable energy, coal consumption, and passenger vehicles, please consult our report ‘Faster and Cleaner: Decarbonization in the Power and Transport Sectors is Surpassing Predictions’.

  • +

    What uncertainties are reflected in the models?

    While the Carbon Transparency Initiative models include five Shared Socioeconomic Pathways that a user may select, uncertainty about the future paths of GDP and population growth reflect only two potential sources of uncertainty. Uncertainty stemming from the methodology and other data sources (both in terms of projections and the revision of historical data) is endemic to all modeling exercises. The challenges of uncertainty are best dealt with by being transparent about the modeling choices made and by exploring the range of possible futures through scenario analysis. Emissions ranges published in the Regions dashboard only reflect the effect of changing between the 5 SSP scenarios; they do not constrain the full range of possible emissions pathways for a region and they should not be interpreted probabilistically (i.e. they are not confidence intervals or distributions of emissions pathways). Please consult the CTI Model Methodology Document for more information.

  • +

    How frequently will the data be updated?

    Updates to the Carbon Transparency Initiative models are planned on a bi-annual basis with new releases in the second half of the calendar year. Data currently on the website are all from the first update to the models (CTI 2017), with the exception of the Tracking dashboard which compares this data to that in the first set of models (CTI 2015).

  • +

    How do I cite use of the data?

    Website: Carbon Transparency Initiative. November 2016. ClimateWorks Foundation, San Francisco, CA. Accessed on (date). Available at climateworkstracker.org.

    Model Methodology: Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Cronin, C. and Menon, S., “Carbon Transparency Initiative: Model methodology for all sectors.” November 2016. ClimateWorks Foundation, San Francisco, CA. Available at climateworkstracker.org.

    Brazil Model Methodology: Azevedo, T., Tsai, D., dos Santos Cremer, M., Costa Jr., C., Brandao Jr., A., Coluna, I., Albuquerque, I., Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Cronin, C. and Menon, S., “Carbon Transparency Initiative: Brazil.” December 2017. System for Greenhouse Gas Emissions and Removals Estimates (SEEG) and ClimateWorks Foundation. Available at climateworkstracker.org.

    Brief (2015): Cronin, C., Menon, S., Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Hagemann, M., Höhne, N., Sterl, S., van Breevoort, P., Wouters, K., Hare, B., Roming, N., and Sferra, F., “Faster and Cleaner: Decarbonization in the power and transport sectors is surpassing predictions.” December 2015. Available at climateworks.org.

    Brief (2017): Cronin, C., Menon, S., Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Sterl, S., Hagemann, M., Fekete, H., Höhne, N., Cantzler, J., Ancygier, A., Beer, M., Hare, B., Wouters, K., Deng, Y., Blok, K., “Faster and Cleaner 2: Kick-starting global decarbonization.” April 2017. Available at climateworks.org.

  • +

    Are oil prices considered in the model?

    As the CTI is an activity and intensity-indicator led model, the future path of oil prices is not an explicit policy lever; assumptions about oil prices are embedded in data sources and projections in the sectors.

  • +

    What assumptions are made regarding non-CO2 emissions?

    The radiative forcing from greenhouse gases other than carbon dioxide is modeled and reported in tons of carbon dioxide equivalent using the 100-year Global Warming Potentials from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change’s Fourth Assessment Report. These gases include methane, nitrous oxide and hydrofluorocarbons. Non-CO2 emissions are released by almost every sector; the CTI 2017 model update focused in part on providing a more comprehensive representation of non-CO2 emissions by gas from a wider variety of sources.

  • +

    Why are Aviation & Marine Sector emissions treated separately from Transport Sector emissions?

    Aviation & Marine emissions are presented separately from terrestrial Transport emissions in order to aid inter-model comparison as not all models attempt to calculate emissions from aviation and marine transport.

  • +

    How does the Current Development Scenario compare to the Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs) or 2°C/1.5°C scenarios?

    The regional emissions pathways in the Current Development Scenario are not consistent with limiting warming to 1.5°C or 2°C and they do not necessarily align with the Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs) submitted to the Conference of the Parties in Paris in November 2015. While the models assume that promulgated policies are implemented they do not immediately assume that all stated targets or pledges are met, and the CDS does not ‘backcast’ from a specific temperature goal. That being said, it is possible to change the model assumptions in order to simulate the effects of an NDC or to reach an emissions rate for a region in 2030 that is in line with limiting warming to a certain threshold if one makes assumptions about national effort-sharing and the rate of emissions reductions post-2030.

  • +

    How is the ClimateWorks Foundation using the CTI model?

    ClimateWorks Foundation is using the CTI model to understand the materiality of greenhouse gas emissions and inform philanthropic investments. All our work is grounded in science, and the CTI is one component in a broader toolkit meant to provide context to and inform, not define, strategies.

  • +

    What differences are there between the model developed for Brazil and the original five models?

    In 2015, ClimateWorks published Carbon Transparency Initiative models for China, the EU, India, Mexico and the US, with harmonized methodologies and data sources. Since then, ClimateWorks has partnered with SEEG, a consortium of Brazilian NGOs, to a) produce a model of Brazil’s greenhouse gas emissions that is based off of the CTI methodology and b) to update the methodology for the Land Use sectors (Forestry, Agriculture and Waste). This work culminated in 2017 with a new model for Brazil and updated models for the original five regions.

    The Brazil model differs from the other models in that it was produced by in-country experts and relies on national inventories and datasets whenever possible. Because of differences in the availability or the structure of the data, there are many instances in which the methodology of the Brazil model deviates from the other models, even when the same metrics are reported. For more information on the specifics of the Brazil model methodology, please visit the SEEG website.

  • +

    How should I cite usage of the CTI Brazil model?

    Azevedo, T., Tsai, D., dos Santos Cremer, M., Costa Jr., C., Brandao Jr., A., Coluna, I., Albuquerque, I., Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Cronin, C. and Menon, S., “Carbon Transparency Initiative: Brazil.” December 2017. System for Greenhouse Gas Emissions and Removals Estimates (SEEG) and ClimateWorks Foundation. Available at climateworkstracker.org.

Suggested Citations

Website: Carbon Transparency Initiative. November 2016. ClimateWorks Foundation, San Francisco, CA. Accessed on (date). Available at climateworkstracker.org.

Model Methodology: Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Cronin, C. and Menon, S., “Carbon Transparency Initiative: Model methodology for all sectors.” November 2016. ClimateWorks Foundation, San Francisco, CA. Available at climateworkstracker.org.

Brazil Model Methodology: Azevedo, T., Tsai, D., dos Santos Cremer, M., Costa Jr., C., Brandao Jr., A., Coluna, I., Albuquerque, I., Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Cronin, C. and Menon, S., “Carbon Transparency Initiative: Brazil.” December 2017. System for Greenhouse Gas Emissions and Removals Estimates (SEEG) and ClimateWorks Foundation. Available at climateworkstracker.org.

Brief (2015): Cronin, C., Menon, S., Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Hagemann, M., Höhne, N., Sterl, S., van Breevoort, P., Wouters, K., Hare, B., Roming, N., and Sferra, F., “Faster and Cleaner: Decarbonization in the power and transport sectors is surpassing predictions.” December 2015. Available at climateworks.org.

Brief (2017): Cronin, C., Menon, S., Monteith, S., Plechaty, D., Sterl, S., Hagemann, M., Fekete, H., Höhne, N., Cantzler, J., Ancygier, A., Beer, M., Hare, B., Wouters, K., Deng, Y., Blok, K., “Faster and Cleaner 2: Kick-starting global decarbonization.” April 2017. Available at climateworks.org.